On the "Working Mans's Café" page you will find: News - Reviews - Google hits and much more on Ray Davies last record!


1. Vietnam Cowboys
2. You're Asking Me
3. Working Mans Cafe
4. Morphine Song
5. In A Moment
6. Peace In Our Time
7. No One Listen
8. Imaginary Man
 9.  One More Time
10. The Voodoo Walk
11. Hymn For A New Age
12. The Real World




Ray Davies Returns With New Solo LP!
12 Sep 2007
Ray Davies Returns With New Solo LP
‘Working Mans Café’ released October 29th

Eighteen months after releasing his first ever solo album, Ray Davies is back with what promises to be one of the best albums of his incredible career. While last year’s ‘Other People’s Lives’ was a lifetime in the making, this new album happened relatively quickly.

Recorded in Nashville, Tennessee and mixed in North London at Konk earlier this year, ‘Working Mans Café’ features 12 stellar songs written by Ray Davies and co- produced with Ray Kennedy. They assembled a crackerjack band of top musicians who breathe life into a wonderful collection of songs.

The 12 new songs are vintage Ray Davies and bears all the hallmark classic musical and lyrical insights we have come to expect from him. The album is infused with a transatlantic sound befitting Ray’s close ties to the American south coupled with his well respected Englishness. From the first upbeat notes of the lead track ‘Vietnam Cowboys’, it is clear Ray has never sung better.

‘Working Mans Café’ is a wistful, humorous and poignant look at today, just what we have come to expect from one of Britain’s greatest songwriters. Highlights are many and include the Preservation Jazz Hall sway of ‘Morphine Song’, the painful longing of ‘Imaginary Man’ and the haunting emotion of ‘One More Time’.

‘You’re Asking Me’ and ‘In A Moment’ offer incredibly affecting pop while ‘Working Man’s Café’ revisits familiar Davies territory – that yearning for an era gone by. Brimming with variety, ‘Voodoo Walk’ is a steamy stroll on the rock side.

‘Where is the real world?’ he asks on the album’s final track after giving ample evidence throughout this impressive 12-song cycle that it lives within these grooves.


 Back to last page                            



| home | on the air | on the road | on the track | hi'story | KINKS-LINKS | 607080 | mystery | sitemap |

<meta name="verify-v1" content="51aXOT+sHmqW1Z9HewejQ6EFA6ZHqdwmby6XBVWpTfw=" >